2021 GAA | GPA Champion 15 Team and Players of the Year Announced

The best hurlers from the 2021 Christy Ring, Nickey Rackard, and Lory Meagher Cups have been announced with confirmation of the 2021 GAA/GPA Champions 15 team.

The selection contains players from eight counties and features seven players who competed in the Ring Cup, five who competed in the Rackard Cup, and three who competed in the Meagher Cup.

Christy Ring Cup winners, Offaly, lead the way with four players on the 15-man selection, while Derry, Mayo, Sligo, Donegal, Tyrone, Fermanagh, and Cavan are also represented.

The selection process for the GAA/GPA 2021 Joe McDonagh Cup Team of the Year included player and coach feedback and was finalised by an independent selection committee of journalists and referees.

The Player of the Year winners in the three competitions have also been confirmed.

Oisin Kelly of Offaly (Christy Ring Cup), Keith Higgins of Mayo (Nickey Rackard Cup), and Sean Corrigan of Fermanagh (Lory Meagher Cup) are all singled out for personal accolades on the back of excellent campaigns.

Belmont club-man, Oisin Kelly, scored 2-10 in three matches for the Faithful County, including seven points from play in the Christy Ring Cup Final against Derry.

Ballyhaunis club-man, Keith Higgins, proved he’s as handy with a hurley as a football by scoring 1-30 in four matches during Mayo’s Nickey Rackard Cup winning campaign.

While experienced Lisbellaw sharp-shooter, Seán Corrigan, hit 2-20 from play over the course of Fermanagh’s Lory Meagher Cup winning campaign.

Congratulating the winners, Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy said: “I want to salute all of those who have been chosen on the Champion 15 selection. There are eight counties represented across the teams which is a great reflection of the depth of talent which exists in these competitions which continue to prove such a successful part of the GAA championship calendar.

“It is a great achievement for the players, their families, their counties and the clubs they represent. I particularly want to congratulate Oisín Kelly, Keith Higgins and Seán Corrigan for having their exceptional player of the year feats recognised.”

GPA CEO, Tom Parsons, added: “The Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard and Lory Meagher Cups provided great excitement and many memorable moments during the 2021 season and I want to pay tribute to the 15 players who have been chosen as having given the best individual performances over the course of the competitions.

“A warm word of congratulations too for the 3 players who have picked up the player of the year accolades in their respective championships.  All of these award winners should take great pride in being selected.”

GAA/GPA 2021 Champion 15 Team of the Year

  1. Simon Doherty (Armagh/Rackard)
  2. Sean Cassidy (Derry/Ring)
  3. Ciarán Burke (Offaly/Ring)
  4. Rory Porteous (Fermanagh/Meagher)
  5. Enda Shalvey (Cavan/Meagher)
  6. Ben Conneely (Offaly/Ring)
  7. David Kenny (Mayo/Rackard)
  8. Cathal Freeman (Mayo/Rackard)
  9. Cormac O’Doherty (Derry/Ring)
  10. Damian Casey (Tyrone/Rackard)
  11. Gerard O’Kelly Lynch (Sligo/Ring)
  12. Seán Corrigan (Fermanagh/Meagher)
  13. Oisin Kelly (Offaly/Ring)
  14. Eoghan Cahill (Offaly/Ring)
  15. Keith Higgins (Mayo/Rackard)

Players of the Year

Christy Ring Player of the Year: Oisin Kelly (Offaly)

Nickey Rackard Player of the Year: Keith Higgins (Mayo)

Lory Meagher Player of the Year: Seán Corrigan (Fermanagh)


Contact Us

Gaelic Players Association,
27 Northwood House,
Northwood Business Campus,
Santry, Dublin 9


Follow Us

Copyright © 2022 | All Rights Reserved | Powered by TADCO