• Generic selectors
    Exact matches only
    Search in title
    Search in content
  • Login


2020 Joe McDonagh Team of the Year announced

Magnificent seven of Saffrons in Joe McDonagh Cup Team of the Year

Antrim lead the way in the GAA/GPA 2020 Joe McDonagh Cup team of the year with seven players honoured.

The champions are represented on every out-field line of the team after a terrific campaign that saw them go unbeaten in five matches, culminating in a hard-fought win over Kerry in the Final.

The Kingdom have five representatives on the team, Carlow have two, and Westmeath have one.

Antrim sharpshooter, Conor McCann, has been selected as the 2020 Joe McDonagh Cup Player of the Year.

The Creggan Kickham’s clubman scored 4-20 from play over the course of a campaign that ended with Antrim defeating Kerry in a keenly contested final at Croke Park last December.

The selection process for the GAA/GPA 2020 Joe McDonagh Cup Team of the Year included player and coach feedback and was finalised by an independent selection committee of journalists and referees.

Uachtarán CLG, John Horan, praised all those who were honoured.

He said: “These awards give us an opportunity to salute the outstanding performers in what was an excellent Joe McDonagh Cup competition. My congratulations to all of those who have been selected and on behalf of the wider Association thank them for the effort they produced in such difficult circumstances in 2020.”

GPA CEO, Paul Flynn, added: “Congratulations to the 15 players who have been selected for the Joe McDonagh Cup Team of the Year. Your performances marked you out as the best among many outstanding performers in 2020. Congratulations too, to Conor McCann on his fully merited awards. I also want to take this opportunity to thank all the players who competed in the Joe McDonagh Cup last year. The lift you helped give to your counties and to the country in very challenging times should not be forgotten.”

A special programme to honour the GAA/GPA 2020 Joe McDonagh Team of the Year will be featured on RTÉ 2fm’s Game On programme this Wednesday evening from 6pm.

GAA/GPA 2020 Joe McDonagh Cup Player of the Year – Conor McCann (Antrim)

GAA/GPA 2020 Joe McDonagh Cup Team of the Year

1: Brian Tracey (Carlow)

2: Tomás O’Connor (Kerry)

3: Matthew Donnelly (Antrim)

4: Stephen Rooney (Antrim)

5: Jason Diggins (Kerry)

6: Aonghus Clarke (Westmeath)

7: Ger Walsh (Antrim)

8: Shane Nolan (Kerry)

9: Keelan Molloy (Antrim)

10: Niall McKenna (Antrim)

11: Shane Conway (Kerry)

12: Daniel Collins (Kerry)

13: Chris Nolan (Carlow)

14: Conor McCann (Antrim)

15: Ciaran Clarke (Antrim)


Contact Us

Gaelic Players Association,
27 Northwood House,
Northwood Business Campus,
Santry, Dublin 9

Tel: +3531 8575686
Email: info@gaelicplayers.com

Follow Us

Copyright © 2022 Gaelicplayers.com | All Rights Reserved | Powered by TADCO