• Generic selectors
    Exact matches only
    Search in title
    Search in content
  • Login


2020 Champion 15 Team of the Year announced

Nine Counties represented in GAA|GPA Champion 15 Selection

The best hurlers from the 2020 Christy Ring, Nickey Rackard, and Lory Meagher Cups have been announced with confirmation of the 2020 GAA/GPA Champion 15 team.

The selection contains players from nine counties and features seven players who competed in the Ring Cup, six who competed in the Rackard Cup, and two who competed in the Meagher Cup.

Christy Ring Cup winners, Kildare, lead the way with four players on the 15-man selection, while Down, Donegal, Mayo, Fermanagh, Offaly, Louth, Wicklow, and Tyrone are also represented.

The Player of the Year winners in the three competitions have also been confirmed.

Paul Divilly of Kildare (Christy Ring Cup), Donegal’s Danny Cullen (Nickey Rackard Cup), and Louth’s Andrew Mackin (Lory Meagher Cup), are all singled out for personal accolades on the back of excellent campaigns.

The long-serving Divilly was a colossus at midfield throughout Kildare’s campaign and starred in their Final victory over Down, scoring 1-1.

Danny Cullen performed similar heroics in the middle of the park for Donegal during their successful pursuit of the Nickey Rackard Cup, and showed real leadership in a dramatic Final victory over Mayo by hitting some crucial points when they were needed most.

While Andrew Mackin also proved himself to be a man for the big occasion as he hit 2-1 for Louth in their Lory Meagher Cup Final victory over Fermanagh.

Congratulating the winners, Uachtarán CLG John Horan said: “This is a great honour for the players chosen and for their families and clubs who they represent. These awards will be a reminder of the lengths all our players went to for our benefit during the tough year that was 2020.”

Paul Flynn, CEO of the GPA, added: “First of all, I want tto take this opportunity to thank all the players who competed in the Christy Ring, Nickey Rackard and Lory Meagher Cups in 2020. In very challenging times, you helped give fans of our games all over the country something to look forward to and discuss on a weekly basis and that should not be underestimated. My warmest congratulations to the 15 players who have made the Champion 15 and to Paul, Danny and Andrew on being named as Players of the Year in your respective competitions. You are all very deserving winners.”

The selection process for the GAA/GPA 2020 Champion 15 included player and coach feedback and was finalised by an independent selection committee of journalists and referees.

A special programme to honour the GAA/GPA Champion 15 will be featured on RTÉ 2fm’s Game On programme this Wednesday evening from 6pm.

GAA/GPA Christy Ring Cup Player of the Year: Paul Divilly (Kildare)

GAA/GPA Nickey Rackard Cup Player of the Year: Danny Cullen (Donegal)

GAA/GPA Lory Meagher Cup Player of the Year: Andrew Mackin (Louth)

GAA/GPA Champion 15

1: Stephen Keith (Down) – Christy Ring Cup

2: Sean McVeigh (Donegal) – Nickey Rackard Cup

3: Caolan Taggart (Down) – Christy Ring Cup

4: Cathal Freeman (Mayo) – Nickey Rackard Cup

5: Conor McShea (Fermanagh) – Lory Meagher Cup

6: Rian Boran (Kildare) – Christy Ring Cup

7: Danny Cullen (Donegal) – Nickey Rackard Cup

8: Eoghan Cahill (Offaly) – Christy Ring Cup

9: Paul Divilly (Kildare) – Christy Ring Cup

10: Damian Casey (Tyrone) – Nickey Rackard Cup

11: James Burke (Kildare) – Christy Ring Cup

12: Shane Boland (Mayo) – Nickey Rackard Cup

13: Jack Sheridan (Kildare) – Christy Ring Cup

14: Andrew Mackin (Louth) – Lory Meagher Cup

15: Christy Moorehouse (Wicklow) – Christy Ring Cup


Contact Us

Gaelic Players Association,
27 Northwood House,
Northwood Business Campus,
Santry, Dublin 9

Tel: +3531 8575686
Email: info@gaelicplayers.com

Follow Us

Copyright © 2022 Gaelicplayers.com | All Rights Reserved | Powered by TADCO