Latest News


Have your say on who represents inter-county players

23 October 2017/Author: SuperUser Account/Number of views (673)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Categories: Year 2015Year 2016

Moran and McGinn among six inter-county GAA players to receive Masters scholarships at DCU Business School

Press release on behalf of the Gaelic Players Association and Dublin City University Business School

19 October 2017/Author: Media GPA/Number of views (2713)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: 1.0
Categories: Year 2015Year 2016

Retirement statement on behalf of Brendan Bugler

Clare All-Ireland winner retires after 11 seasons with the Banner hurlers

I wish to confirm that I am retiring from inter-county hurling with Clare.

Thank you to everyone who has helped me on my journey along the way. 

I would like to acknowledge and sincerely thank my family and friends, teammates  and management teams in Whitegate, Scariff Community College, University of Limerick and Clare. 


Thank you, 


Brendan Bugler





Age: 32

Inter-county career: 2007-present

Club: Whitegate

Honours: 1 All-Ireland hurling title (2013), Division 1 National League title (2016), 2 GPA/GAA All-Star awards (2012, 2013), 1 Fitzgibbon Cup (2011), 1 Division 1B National Hurling League title (2012), 1 Interprovincial Hurling title (2013)

04 October 2017/Author: Media GPA/Number of views (822)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: 5.0
Categories: Year 2015Year 2016

Nominations for 2017 PwC Football Team of the Year All-Stars

Andy Moran, James McCarthy, Stephen Cluxton and David Clarke vie for Footballer of the Year

21 September 2017/Author: Media GPA/Number of views (1183)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: 5.0

Categories: Year 2015Year 2016

PwC All-Stars 2017 Hurling Nominations

PwC All-Stars 2017 Hurling Nominations


GALWAY’S success in winning league, Leinster and All-Ireland titles has been reflected in the final list of nominations in this year’s PwC All-Star awards.

The release today by the GAA and the GPA of the 45 best hurlers of the 2017 season has yielded 14 nominations in total for Micheál Donoghue’s men after a campaign that saw them win a first All-Ireland senior crown since 1988, as well as the Leinster championship, and the Allianz League title.

As is tradition, the nominations are divided into three goalkeepers, 18 defenders, six midfielders and 18 forwards. It has also been agreed to honour all of those nominated with a specially commissioned certificate of achievement.

The final 15 that make up the PwC All-Star Hurling team of 2017 will be presented with their coveted awards at a gala black tie banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday, November 3 - an event to be screened live by RTE TV.

Beaten All-Ireland finalists Waterford have received 11 nominations. The remainder of the breakdown is Cork 8, Tipperary 5, Wexford 4, Kilkenny 2 and Clare 1 with the selections having been voted on by a committee made up of GAA media, and chaired by Uachtarán Chumann Luthchleas Gael, Aogán Ó Fearghail.

Also announced today is the short list for this year’s Hurler of the Year and Young Hurler of the Year award.

These overall awards will be voted on exclusively by inter county players and they will choose between Galway’s Joe Canning and Waterford duo Jamie Barron and Kevin Moran for the Hurler of the Year accolade.

Shortlisted for the Young Hurlers of the Year prize are Cork’s Mark Coleman, Waterford’s Conor Gleeson and Galway’s Conor Whelan.

The GAA and GPA have announced PwC as the new sponsors of the All-Star awards in an arrangement that will run until 2020 and see the rebranding of the awards under the title of PwC All-Stars.

PwC All-Star Hurling Nominations


Colm Callanan (Galway), Anthony Nash (Cork), Stephen O’Keeffe (Waterford),


Mark Coleman (Cork), Daithí Burke (Galway), Gearóid McInerney (Galway), Padraic Maher (Tipperary), Padraig Mannion (Galway), Noel Connors (Waterford), Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford), Aidan Harte (Galway), Adrian Tuohey (Galway), Darragh Fives (Waterford), Diarmuid O’Keeffe(Wexford), Colm Spillane (Cork), John Hanbury (Galway), Damien Cahalane (Cork), Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny), Conor Gleeson (Waterford), Philip Mahony (Waterford), Matthew O’Hanlon (Wexford)



David Burke (Galway), Jamie Barron (Waterford), Brendan Maher (Tipperary), Johnny Coen (Galway), Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork), Lee Chin (Wexford)



Kevin Moran (Waterford), Joe Canning (Galway), Conor Coone

20 September 2017/Author: Media GPA/Number of views (1453)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: 2.5
Categories: Year 2015Year 2016
First 567891011121314 Last
Copyright Gaelic Players Association 2019. All Rights Reserved.