Body Of Evidence

All-Ireland hurling champions Galway collect seven PwC All-Star awards

Runners-up Waterford claim five awards including a fourth for Michael 'Brick' Walsh


2017 PwC All-Stars Hurling Final 15

All-Ireland champions Galway have taken the lion’s share of the spoils on the 2017 PwC All-Star hurling team for 2017.

The GAA/GPA’s PwC All-Stars were selected at Croke Park on Wednesday, where the Tribesmen were awarded seven coveted places on this year’s selection – their highest representation since they won their previous Liam MacCarthy Cup in 1988.

The team is broken down between Galway (7), Waterford (5), Cork (2) and Tipperary (1).

Waterford goalkeeper Stephen O’Keeffe is one of six first-time PwC All-Star winners.

In defence, Pádraic Maher from Tipperary collects his fifth award and leaves him one behind Premier County legends Nicky English and Eoin Kelly, who each won six All-Stars. 

Midfield is notable in that Jamie Barron (Waterford) and David Burke (Galway) are selected as PwC All-Stars for the second consecutive season.

In attack, Galway’s Joe Canning has been selected at centre-forward, picking up his fourth All-Star in the process.

Another player collecting his fourth All-Star is Déise wing forward Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh. However, this is his first award in the attack, having been selected at midfield in 2007 and centre back in 2009 and 2010.

GPA Chief Executive Dermot Earley offered his congratulations to all the award winners and commented: "The PwC All-Stars is the most coveted award scheme in the country and it is a huge honour to be recognised as one of the best 15 hurlers or footballers in the country.

"I would like to applaud all of those who have been rewarded for their hard work and dedication throughout the 2017 season and indeed throughout their careers. I know they will treasure this recognition long after they have hung up their boots.

02 November 2017/Author: Media GPA/Number of views (799)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Categories: Year 2015Year 2016


Have your say on who represents inter-county players

23 October 2017/Author: SuperUser Account/Number of views (731)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: No rating
Categories: Year 2015Year 2016

Moran and McGinn among six inter-county GAA players to receive Masters scholarships at DCU Business School

Press release on behalf of the Gaelic Players Association and Dublin City University Business School

19 October 2017/Author: Media GPA/Number of views (2802)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: 1.0
Categories: Year 2015Year 2016

Retirement statement on behalf of Brendan Bugler

Clare All-Ireland winner retires after 11 seasons with the Banner hurlers

I wish to confirm that I am retiring from inter-county hurling with Clare.

Thank you to everyone who has helped me on my journey along the way. 

I would like to acknowledge and sincerely thank my family and friends, teammates  and management teams in Whitegate, Scariff Community College, University of Limerick and Clare. 


Thank you, 


Brendan Bugler





Age: 32

Inter-county career: 2007-present

Club: Whitegate

Honours: 1 All-Ireland hurling title (2013), Division 1 National League title (2016), 2 GPA/GAA All-Star awards (2012, 2013), 1 Fitzgibbon Cup (2011), 1 Division 1B National Hurling League title (2012), 1 Interprovincial Hurling title (2013)

04 October 2017/Author: Media GPA/Number of views (885)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: 5.0
Categories: Year 2015Year 2016

Nominations for 2017 PwC Football Team of the Year All-Stars

Andy Moran, James McCarthy, Stephen Cluxton and David Clarke vie for Footballer of the Year

21 September 2017/Author: Media GPA/Number of views (1266)/Comments (0)/ Article rating: 5.0

Categories: Year 2015Year 2016
12345678910 Last
Copyright Gaelic Players Association 2019. All Rights Reserved.